How many times have you screamed or heard someone shout “She was not Set!” or “He was moving Ref!” when an official calls a player control foul?
Myth: A defensive player must be set in order to draw an offensive foul. Fact: A defensive player is required to obtain initial legal guarding position. After a defensive player has established legal guarding position:
A charging foul by an offensive player is illegal personal contact caused by pushing or moving into the defensive player, provided the defensive player has established legal guarding position as shown above. Here are some more key elements:
As officials, we are trained to referee the defense first in order to ensure the above criteria has been met and maintained. It is important for the common fan to know that this is one of the most difficult plays for officials to rule on, especially for officials that are early in their career. This play is a judgement call and since we are human, it would be poor judgement on your part to believe that all officials will see these plays the same. You just have to accept the fact that there are officials that will call a block most of the time and some that lean towards calling a charge. It is up to the coaches and players to adjust to the way the game is being officiated, which adds to the complexity and challenge of the game. I know it is difficult, but I would encourage fans to try and view the game objectively and judge officials based on their consistency, hustle and professionalism. Myth # 2: Officials have a vested interest in making sure the home team wins and gives the home team the benefit of the doubt on 50/50 plays like a block or charge. Fact: Most people serving as officials do so to give back to the game and the communities in their area. We are doing good to be in a different city 4-5 times per week and keep up with the pace of the game, so there is no time to think about cheating the road team. Thank you again for spending 3 Seconds in the Stripes! **NFHS Basketball Rule Book was utilized to help create this post. Please see rules 4-23-2, 4-23-3, and 4-7-2**
3 Comments
David
2/11/2020 11:35:13 am
Awesome, I was told I was not correct by another official but I made the call anyway.
Reply
Wendal Maxwell
2/11/2020 06:17:17 pm
Wished we had more content like this to help new officials
Reply
Felix
2/12/2020 10:50:34 am
Thanks
Reply
Leave a Reply. |
CategoriesArchives
February 2020
|